reclaimed passion

I started the FPBP on November 2 and in just 12 days I feel like my life has taken on a whole new meaning. I’ve reclaimed my passion for women’s issues, feminism and humanism. I have found myself sitting at my laptop or on my iPad, reading more and more blogs and articles re: feminism, reproductive justice, educational justice, women’s issues and more. I feel such a pull towards dedicating my life towards feminist activism right now.

I have not even gone onto Perez Hilton. I watch less TV (except for Dexter, Homeland and sports). I have even caught myself eating less. My whole life right now is just consumed by feminism and I love it so much. Instead of reading about Britney Spears or checking up on movie trailers, I’m watching talks by Jaclyn Friedman, Hugo Schwyzer, Shelby Knox, Miriam Pérez and other activists and feminists. I’m so captivated by these people and am trying to model some kind of a life path or career after them.

I’m starting grad school in just 8 weeks and part of me wants to start over and go back to undergrad, major in Women’s Studies, and build more of a foundation. But I guess this independent research I’m watching now is sustaining me and giving me direction. I need to figure out how to channel this, though. Yeah, I’ve got FPBP, but I want to do more. I want to write a book. Or speak to high school students. Or just read and read and read what some of these amazing people have to say. I have a list of feminist conferences I want to attend. I want to connect with people who have similar ideals as me. I have an ever-growing list of books I need to buy, topics I need to research and history I need to brush up on.

Point? I’m fucking excited. My reclaimed passion is driving my soul right now and is fueling me to do something greater than me, to continue my work in empowering young people, especially young girls. Yeah, maybe foster care isn’t the right field for me to do that in, but damn, I know for sure that I want to dedicate my life to spreading the word. Being a feminist evangelical, as Jessica Valenti and Jaclyn Friedman might say.

Thanks to those feminists and activists who are motivating me right now, who are connecting to something within me telling me to take action. I’m in love.

Leave a Reply

