A lesson from Mom

After I found out I was accepted to LMU, my mom and reflected for a bit and she left me with this solid piece of advice:

It doesn’t matter how highly educated a person is. Your character will be best determined from how you treat others, your level of politeness, kindness and respect towards others, and your humility.
My mom basically said, congrats, but don’t let it get to your head, and don’t forget that there’s still a lot more to accomplish.

It doesn’t get any more real than that. We see well educated politicians today fucking with people’s lives. We witness racism, classism, sexism, ageism on a daily basis.

We know that society isn’t always balanced, fair, just, loving. So it’s up to us to do what we can in our daily lives to not let our education define us, but to define what our education did for us trough our actions.
I guess that’s the beauty of Jesuit education. I’m grateful that somewhere along the line my mom also understood that our merits don’t define us, but rather the content of our character does. I wonder if she ever went to a Jesuit school. 😉

Leave a Reply

