Moving right along…

As most of my friends/family know, about 2 or 3 weeks into moving back to CA from NYC, I became irritatingly restless. Something about living in a big city like NYC really affected me and made my little town of Temple City seem incredibly mundane.

I’ve been living at home for almost a full year now. This is the longest I’ve lived at home since I was 18 and in high school. I lived in the dorms and in Westchester for 4 years of college and then spent about 3 months at home, and got right to NYC, living there for a full calendar year.

Needless to say, I’ve been seeking change and trying to figure out what my next steps would be.

I will be applying for grad school (MA in Education) for the spring semester of 2012 very soon. Deadlines are November 1, but I aim to submit my applications no later than the middle of September. I want to know where I’m going and what I’m doing, ASAP. My target schools are SFSU, USF or LMU. NYU is a reach school and I may not even apply there. As much as I’d love to live in NYC again, it just doesn’t seem practical at this point.

I’m actively saving money right now, for the first time in my life, for a big move. I’ve already decided that if I happen to find out that I got into SFSU or USF, I would move there immediately, quit my job, and start over in beautiful San Francisco. As my friend Monique said on my Facebook, I’ve already lived in LA and NYC, so why not try out SF! Sounds wonderful.

I am thrilled and anxious for this next move in my life. I’m ready to start focusing on myself, to get going on my MA degree, and to live on my own again. If I happen to not get into a SF school or if LMU just happens to be the next step (I’m an expert at changing my mind), then I’ll move out to the west side and enjoy life out there for a few years.

Where ever my journey takes me in the next 6 months, I’m going to be really excited for it and I’m going to embrace change and adventure. It’s about time.

Leave a Reply

