my purpose driven life

In happier news…I have refueled myself.

Come August I will have been in the social services world for 2 years…it has taught me a lot about who I am, who I want to be, what kind of impact I want to make in the world and so much more.

But it has also been an easy escape from facing my dreams and goals head on. Being a counselor in the social services sect is emotionally tiring, but intellectually…easy. I have not really been challenged in ways I thought a “career” was supposed to challenge me.

My mom recently told me, don’t worry about how much money you’re going to make, don’t worry about what you think you should do, just do what you love to do and do what you want to do.

I wasn’t sure for a long time what exactly it is I wanted to do. Or I should say, I was afraid to say out loud what I want to do with my life. because it seems so unstable and so daring. But here it is:

 

I want to keep working in the non profit world, I want to keep helping women make strides. I want to help young girls and women attain appropriate educations. I want to raise awareness about breast cancer. I want to keep meeting people who are loud and proud Feminists, who are active activists, who have bold, strong, taboo opinions and fight for their beliefs. So the best way I know how to do this right now is to get a Masters in Education, at a university that offers emphases in the social justice, urban development sector. So far I’ve found that USF, SFSU, CSULB, LUC, and UMASS @ Amherst have these types of programs. SO I shall apply. And I shall succeed. And I shall see where this takes me.

 

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

