First Day of Work

Yesterday was my first day of work at Marian Hall. It was definitely an experience. I went into it anxious, nervous and excited, but I didn’t have much expectations. I was sort of expecting the worst and not expecting anything at the same time.

I really love my supervisor. She is so helpful, really straightforward with me, and very supportive. I really appreciate how patient she is being with me. She gave me a big run down of my responsibilities and about the job description and the ladies at Marian Hall in general. Then she basically sent me out to the floor and let me do my thing.

I sat on the floor with a few ladies, I don’t want to say their names and I’m pretty sure I can’t, so I’ll just leave it at that.

There are 11 residents currently at Marian Hall. They basically house girls 13-19 (give or take a couple of years) who have either voluntarily left their homes, have been removed from their homes, and are transitioning.

I learned little things about each of the ladies that were in and I gradually started conversation with them individually. Some were really nice and opened up to me right away. A few were very cold and wouldn’t sit in the same room with me for more than a few minutes. It’s going to take time, but I feel optimistic.

I don’t want to go into too much detail in fear of jinxing myself or just divulging too much. I want to respect the privacy of the residents. I just wanted to tell you all that it was a good day and I felt like I made some headway.

Keep praying for me.

Leave a Reply

